Constitutions of European States


Pages: pages
Shipping Weight: 2100 gram
Published: 07-2008
Publisher: WLP
Language: US
ISBN (hardcover) : 9789058870063

Product Description


The European Union (EU) is a political and economic community of twenty-seven member states, located primarily in Europe. Much of the EU`s functioning depends on agreement between members, an intergovernmental feature it shares with most international organisations. However, it also has supranational bodies, able to make decisions binding upon the member states. Important institutions of the EU include the European Commission, the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union, the European Council, the European Court of Justice and the European Central Bank. EU citizens elect the Parliament every five years. The EU traces its origins to the European Coal and Steel Community formed among six countries in 1951 and the Treaty of Rome in 1957. Since then the EU has grown in size through the accession of new member states and has increased its powers by the addition of new policy areas to its remit. In 1993, the Maastricht Treaty established the current legal framework. The Treaty of Lisbon signed in December 2007 is intended to amend the existing treaties to update the political and legal structure of the Union, if ratification is completed in 2008.

This book was conceived as a compilation which presents the 27 constitutions of the European Union Member States.

The constitutions are all translated in English and have been added in the book in the chronological order of the states` adherence.