The International Court of Justice Series


C. Tofan (ed.)
Pages: pages
Shipping Weight: 950 gram
Published: 07-2009
Publisher: WLP
Language: US
ISBN (softcover) : 1875-3132

Product Description

The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began its work in April 1946. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (the Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York (United States of America). The Court`s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies. The Court is composed of 15 judges, who are elected for terms of office of nine years by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council.

The first volume of the collection has been published and contains basic documents related to the Court. Some treaties that confer jurisdiction on the ICJ are included in this book, among which: "Convention on Rights and Duties of States (Montevideo Convention)", "Universal Declaration of Human Rights", Declaration on the Definition of Agression", "1978 State Immunity Act", "Convention on the law of the non-navigational uses of international watercourses".

The series is divided into 3 parts:
Part A: This part contains volumes with documents and related materials on the establishment and history of the International Court of Justice. The Permanent Court of International Justice documents are included in this part.
Part B: This part contains documents on the Court such as the latest version of the Statute and Rules of Procedure.
Part C: This part contains the cases brought before the Court.